This morning as I was reading my daily bible, I was struck with the compassion of God. 

 

You see, Israel was once again turning away from the Lord and following false gods.  They were being oppressed by the Philistines and the Ammonites.  Life was horrible and miserable for them, but they had brought it on themselves.  They cried out to the Lord, and He told them no, He wouldn’t help them.  They turned from  Him and he would not save them now.

 

So, this is what happened:

 

But the Israelites said to the LORD, "We have sinned.  Do with us whatever you think best, but please rescue us now."  Then they got rid of the foreign gods among them and served the LORD.  And He could bear Israel’s misery no longer.   Judges 10:16

 

This verse just jumped out at me.  First I saw the Lord’s great compassion.  And then I saw the anguish He felt as He watched Israel suffer.  And I saw that when we turn our hearts back to Him, He forgives us and saves us.

 

I related this to my parenting, how I suffer when I see my children doing wrong and disobeying me.  It hurts.  And when I know they have consequences that are unpleasant because of it, I grieve.  And when they turn their hearts back to obedience, I can’t bear their suffering and I rescue them.  How many times have I kicked myself for being too soft, when I am just following the model of God my Father?  No more, I will thank the Lord for allowing me compassion and love for each of my darlings.

 

I also realize how loving and patient the Lord is.  How frequently I turn from Him to some silly thing.  I focus all of my attention on it, and somehow don’t have time to spend in the Word with Him.  But when I realize and repent and turn back to Him, He is there waiting to take me in.  He has compassion on the misery I have caused myself and helps me back to where I should be.

 

I am just in awe of God this morning.  He is so good.   Won’t you spend the day rejoicing in His greatness with me today?

