I have been spending much time in prayer lately,  which is wonderful.  As I was praying, this portion of scripture came to mind:

 

 That night Jacob got up and took his two wives, his two maidservants and his eleven sons  and crossed the ford of the Jabbok.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Genesis 32:22-32

 

As I read these verses, I felt very strongly that these verses are meant for a very special person that has been wrestling with God for a blessing for a long time.  In the end Jacob got his blessing, but he was left with a limp.  I believe that this person is going to get their blessing, but be left with a "limp", as a reminder.

 

And as I write this, I realize how it applies to so much.  Many times it is the painful things in life that bring us blessings.  The things that leave scars in us.  We see the face of God in our trials, but are left with scars from our trials.  How we need to not regret the "limps" we may get in our struggles and wrestling, and only rejoice in the blessing we are given.  How we need to be thankful that we were spared through the trial, and not allow bitterness to creep in that we had to undergo the trial.

 

This is something I need to remember myself.  Life isn’t always easy, but may I always be thankful that the Lord is blessing me through it, even if I may have a limp.

 Therefore to this day the Israelites do not eat the tendon attached to the socket of the hip,  because the socket of Jacob’s hip was touched near the tendon.  The sun rose above him as he passed Peniel,  and he was limping because of his hip.  So Jacob called the place Peniel, saying, "It is because I saw God face to face, and yet my life was spared."  Jacob said, "Please tell me your name."  But he replied, "Why do you ask my name?" rThen he blessed  him there.  Then the man said, "Your name  will no longer be Jacob, but Israel,  because you have struggled with God and with men and have overcome."   The man asked him, "What is your name?" "Jacob,"  he answered.  Then the man said, "Let me go, for it is daybreak." But Jacob replied, "I will not let you go unless you bless me." When the man saw that he could not overpower him, he touched the socket of Jacob’s hip  so that his hip was wrenched as he wrestled with the man.  So Jacob was left alone,  and a man  wrestled with him till daybreak. After he had sent them across the stream, he sent over all his possessions.

