I recently watched a movie (bad aren’t I?) about dancers.  I am actually drawing a blank for the title of the movie.  And honestly I wouldn’t recommend the movie to anyone.  But after I watched the movie I had some thoughts that have stayed with me.

 

The movie really focused on how hard the dancers worked.  And how they didn’t always enjoy the work, yet they deep down loved what they were doing.  Even in the midst of the pain.  They continued on and worked through it to create something of beauty.

 

Normally I wouldn’t have given the movie a second thought, but this time something really affected with me.  The fact that they worked so hard, even when it was painful for them, just wouldn’t leave me.  And the fact that they were far from perfect and together, meant something to me.  In times past when seeing something similar where an athlete or an artist endures a lot, I haven’t really applied the principle to me.  It never affected me.  But after this movie it did. 

 

I can’t help seeing that I need to work just as hard as they do, but only in my calling.  Why don’t I put as much effort into my role as wife and mother?  Why don’t I work and suffer, even until it hurts (other than labor), for the beauty that I can create in my family?  Yes it is painful, yes it is exhausting.  Why do I stop when I get tired, why do I tend to want a break from it all?  I need to learn to push on through the pain, and endure so I can find the joy and love for my calling that I know is there deep down inside, underneath the work and hum drum daily life.  Only then can I make something beautiful in my family. 

 

Dancers work hard to make the dance look good.  To watch them practicing, you would never imagine the beauty of the finished work.  Each small piece is rehearsed over and over, how is that for drudgery?  How like my daily life that is?  How many times do I clean the toilet or correct a child for the same thing over and over again?  Yet if I continue on, my life, my children will be a beautiful work, bringing glory to God.  And this beauty can be created even though I am far from perfect.

 

I am truly amazed at how the Lord works in my life.  Right when I needed it, He gave me the inspiration I needed to continue on.  And a beautiful picture of what my life is and can be.  

 

The one who sows to please his sinful nature, from that nature will reap distruction;  the one who sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life.  Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.  Galatians 6:8,9

 

 

 

