When building triple bunkbeds when you live 50 miles to the closest Home Depot that carries the tinted stain that you are using, MAKE SURE YOU BOUGHT ENOUGH THE FIRST TIME!  Wonderful lessons I am learning as we build this.  I got to drive 50 miles approximately one way to get more stain today.  It took me a couple hours that I could have used doing the actual staining.  Boy did I groan when I realized I had to make that trip.  On the brighter side, I must have lost weight on the drive because we don’t have any air conditioning in the car, lol.

Another thing I have learned is to make sure that we are both on the page as far as a time table goes.  We both plan on finishing these tomorrow, but we haven’t seemed to get on the same page as to how that will happen, lol.  Dh is now having a nap, which of course he has earned.  But this delay, along with the delay of buying the stain means that to have these beds up tomorrow we will be putting them up into the evening.  Bummer, eh?  Ah well, such is life.  Unfortunately two of my sons are stuck sleeping on the couch until said beds are finished.  It is such a blessing to have a large couch right now.

Since my house is a disaster because I have been working outside and not directing inside, I really should be cleaning right now.  But I am hot and sweaty and tired.  I am saving my energy because I suspect that I wll be up in the wee hours in the morning working on this project to get it done.  We have to drill the holes in 18 boards, doesn’t sound like much does it?  That is roughly 96 holes to be measured and drilled.  And then those 18 boards will need to be finish sanded and stained. That is 1-1/2 to 3 hours just in sanding and then 3 to -4 hours in staining.  I have a good 6-8 hours of work ahead of me before we can assemble them.  Assembly I estimate will take 2-3 hours.  So, you can see why I am a bit unsettled by all this time lost.  I am suspecting, but not wanting to admit that these won’t be finished until NEXT weekend GROAN.  Ummm, can you tell that patience is not one of my strong points?  Hmmm, maybe that is why we are having these delays.  I better learn patience quick.

