I made this yesterday when I wanted something fun to do, lol.  My kids all love it, I will have to buy more yarn and make some more of these.

Here are the instructions on how I made it:

 

Using 34 pegs on the purple rectangle Knifty Knitter loom.

 

1.                Crochet cast on using two strands as one of Red Heart Light & Lofty Yarn-Puff. 

2.              Do the garter stitch for 12 rows.  (Knit row one, purl row two, etc.)

3.              Cut working yarn leaving a tail long enough to tie on second color.  I used two strands as one of Bernat Softee Chunky -Berry Red.

4.              E-wrap for 10 rows.

5.              Decrease  4 stitches.  Wrap and knit off.  (I did this by taking each end stitch and moving it over to the next inside peg.  There would then be two stitches on each corner peg.  Then I e-wrapped and knitted off.)

6.              E-wrap for 5 rows.

7.              Decrease 4 stitches.  Wrap and knit off. 

8.              E-wrap for 5 rows.

9.              Decrease 4 stitches.  Wrap and knit off. 

10.        E-wrap for 3 rows.

11.          Decrease 4 stitches.  Wrap and knit off.

12.        E-wrap 3 rows.

13.        Decrease 4 stitches.  Wrap and knit off.

14.        E-wrap 3 rows.

15.        Decrease 4 stitches.  Wrap and knit off.

16.        E-wrap 3 rows.

17.        Decrease 4 stitches.  Wrap and knit off.

18.        E-wrap 3 rows.

19.        Remove from loom and do a gathered bind off.

20.      Sew on a pom-pom onto the top of the hat and weave in loose ends.  *I made a pom-pom by wrapping the yarn around my fingers until it was fluffy.  Then I removed it and tied a length of string around the center tightly.  Then I cut the loops and fluffed out my pom-pom.

Merry Christmas!

