I ran out of dishwasher detergent so I mixed up a batch of homemade to try.  I’m hoping that it works well because it will save us money.  But if it doesn’t it will only be for a week until payday when I do big shopping again.

Here is the recipe I used:

1 cup Borax

1-1/4 cup Washing Soda

1/2 cup salt (I used kosher, it’s all I had)

1/2 cup Oxy-Clean 

 

I made my own dry laundry detergent that works really well.  I only use a Tablespoon in each load yet my laundry gets nice and clean.  And if I have a particularly nasty load of laundry I do a prewash with a second Tbs of detergent and an extra rinse.  My clothes come out really well.

The recipe for that is:

1 cup Borax

1 cup Washing Soda

1 cup Zote-grated

1 cup Oxy-Clean

Mix it up and store it in a container.

 

