They turned out really well and were super easy to make.  You can locate the pattern here, it’s free.  Yesterday I made 4 in size small, which gives me a total of 12 diaper covers in that size.  I prefer to have a lot because that way if they get soiled I don’t have to stress about getting them washed in time.  The smalls I made double layer and included the soaker panel because my fleece was thinner and I would rather err on the side of too much protection.

Then this morning I made 4 newborn size.  I made them with just one layer of the fleece with the added soaker panel.  It took me about an hour and a half the morning for the 4 newborn, so they are pretty quick to sew up. 

I didn’t have any money to buy any fleece, so I used one of our old fleece blankets.  You know the kind that you can get really cheap?  It’s not a cute print or anything, but they are cute anyway because they are small.

I haven’t taken pics yet, but I will be doing that at some point today or tomorrow and posting them.

I also made nursing covers and am working on a diaper/wipe case.  After I finish my projects I’ll post pics of everything at the same time.

So, if you need diaper covers but you can’t afford them.  I highly reccomend the Katrina pattern.  You can use old fleece blankets that you have as long as they have a stretch (I had one that didn’t stretch in any direction, couldn’t use that one).  And you can make up several from one blanket.  Also, sometimes it’s cheaper to buy the fleece blankets when they go on sale rather than buy the fleece at $8 a yard because the blankets can be purchased for around $7 usually and they are more than a yard.

