As a member of Momys, I get to benefit from the wisdom of many other mothers of many children.  Instead of struggling through certain areas on my own, I am blessed to be able to ask others that have gone before me and have had victory.  One very special Momy shared her menu/shopping system and I have latched onto it and it has saved me much sanity.

Here it is, have a repeating weekly menu that you use over and over.  Making the same basic things over and over takes the stress off, helps to get you into a predictable routine and makes shopping loads easier.  So I made a master menu and put it into my household binder, and I made a master shopping list for that menu, also in my binder.  I also took the recipes needed for the menu and put them in my binder for easy access.  Now, you may be thinking, isn’t that boring?  But honestly it isn’t for me.  It frees me up, by knowing that I have everything I need to make meals for the next two weeks.  Also, because I buy staples, I have the freedom to change things up a bit if I want to.  For instance, I don’t always have to make the same type of pizza or cook the chicken in the same way.  But I know we’ll be having pizza or chicken.

Here is my menu:

Master Menu
 
 
Breakfast
Lunch
Dinner
Mon
Eggs, Hashbrowns
Peanut Butter
Sandwiches
Potato Soup,
Bread
Tue
Oatmeal
Grilled Cheese
Sandwiches
 
Mushroom Chicken,
Mashed Potatoes,
Corn on the Cob
Wed
Rice with
Cinnamon/Sugar
Peanut Butter
Sandwiches
Bean Soup,
Cornbread
Thu
Oatmeal
Grilled Cheese
Sandwiches
Bean & Cheese Burritos,
Mexican Rice
Fri
Rice with Cinnamon/Sugar
Peanut Butter
Sandwiches
Chicken Soup,
Bread
Sat
Waffles,
Hashbrowns
Grilled Cheese
Sandwiches
Pizza, Salad
Sun
Eggs, Hashbrowns
Peanut Butter Sandwiches
Leftovers
 
 And here is my master shopping list that takes into consideration everything needed for these meals, plus carrot and popcorn for snacks.  Also, extra cleaning supplies etc.  All of the bolded items are things I prefer to buy at Costco.
Master Shopping List for 2008 Menu
Baking
Sugar-10 lb
Flour
Baking powder-2
Dry Milk
Yeast
Cornmeal
_________________
_________________
Beauty
Shampoo
Conditioner
Soap
Deodorant
_________________
_________________
Beverages
7-up
Starbuck’s
Bottled water
Coffee
_________________
_________________
Breads
Tortillas-burrito
_________________
_________________
Cereal
Oatmeal-3
Raisin Bran-kellogs
Cream of Wheat
Syrup
_________________
Cleaning
Bleach Spray
SOS pads
Magic Eraser
Dryer Sheets
Laundry Detergent
Dishwasher Det.
Dishwashing soap
Comet
Swiffer Cleaning fluid
Swiffer pads
Mr. Clean pads-tub
_________________
 
Condiments
Shortening
Oil
Cooking Spray
Peanut Butter
Jam
Salad Dressing
Olives
Ketchup
__________________
__________________
Dairy
Eggs-5 dozen
Sliced cheese-2
Co-Jack cheese-2 lbs
Butter-4 lbs
Mozzarella 2 lbs
Pepperoni
Creamer
Milk-10
__________________
__________________
Freezer
Hash browns (2)
Bnls/sknls chicken breasts
broccoli
soup veggies
__________________
__________________
Health
Tylenol
Toothpaste
Toothpaste-child
__________________
__________________
Misc.
__________________
__________________
__________________
Nutrition
Ensure
Tiger Milk Bars-8
__________________
__________________
Paper Products
Toilet paper
flushable wipes
tin foil
baggies-quart
baggies-sandwich
bread bags
freezer vac bags-quart
freezer vac bags-gallon
garbage bags
crock pot liners
_________________
_________________
Pasta/Grains
Popcorn
Rice
Pinto Beans
Mexican Rice-4
Parmesan Cheese
Spaghetti Sauce
_________________
Pets
Dog food
Cat food
Cat litter
Disposable cat pans
_________________
Produce
Carrots
Potatoes-20 lbs
Onions
Garlic Cloves
Salad Mix
_________________
_________________
Soup
Cream of Mushroom Soup-4
Chicken bouillon or soup base
_________________
Spices
Cinnamon
Vanilla
Iodized Sea Salt
Pepper
Celery Salt
_________________
_________________
 

 

I just grab a list from my binder and highlight anything I am out of and write in any extra things that I don’t buy regularly.  This has saved me a lot of time.  And I’m hoping to be able to eventually do my main shopping once a month and then just buy produce once a week.  But so far I haven’t been able to swing it financially.  Hopefully soon.

So, this is how I am currently dealing with meals here.  Next year, I will re-write the menu and shopping list and we will have a different set, but the same system.

