• I don’t want to cook today.
  • I don’t want to clean today.
  • I don’t want to bake cupcakes and go shopping today.
  • I don’t want to be sweet and patient and attentive.
  • I don’t want to organize another thing today.
  • I don’t want to referree disagreements, and train my children today.
  • I don’t……

I just want to be a selfish woman today.

But……I will….

  • I WILL cook 3 meals today cheerfully and with a thankful heart that we have food to prepare.
  • I WILL clean up after those meals and clean whatever else I find time for.
  • I WILL bake cupcakes and go shopping so that we can enjoy my youngest daughters birthday tomorrow.
  • I WILL do my best to be sweet and patient and attentive to each of my children today.  Knowing that these days are fleeting and I’ll treasure every conversation later.
  • I WILL organize some other area of my home today to make my family’s life easier in some way.
  • I WILL referree disagreements and train my children today.  This is so that I can reap the rewards of that training tomorrow.
  • I WILL…..

You know why I will?  Because I am supposed to work as unto the Lord.  And love my neighbor as myself.  And if I’m being my own selfish woman today then I am not working as unto the Lord, I’m serving only myself.  And if I’m only serving myself, then I can’t possibly be loving my neighbor as myself, because I am too focused on me.

So, how about you?  What are you going to do today that you just don’t want to?

