And I hate being depressed.  It makes me feel like a spoiled child that is pouting because she isn’t getting her way.  I mean really, doesn’t that seem like what it is?  I’m not talking about clinical, needing meds depression, just the normal run of the mill depression.  For comparison, a pouting child will pout because they didn’t get what they wanted.  So they are irritable and silent with an unpleasant look on their face.   Hmmm, sounds much like depression.  A depressed person will be irritable, silent, weepy etc because life isn’t working out like they want.  In other words, because they didn’t get what they wanted.  So basically the same as pouting.  The only cure for a child’s pout is to be thankful for what they have and to not focus on what they can’t have.  It’s the same cure for depression.  Focus on your blessings and being thankful for them, and not how your life isn’t matching your imaginary ideal.

So, you see I don’t like to be depressed.  And I want to stop it right now <foot stomping>  I will choose to be thankful for what I do have…..and I have a LOT.  And I will choose to look for ways that I can bless others, instead of coming up with ways that I think others should bless me.  I mean how backwards is that?  Let the Lord decide how I should be blessed, it’s not my business to worry about.  My job is to serve Him by blessing others.

So today with the Lord’s help I will conquer this depression and spend the day rejoicing in my Lord!  No more pouting for me

