A clean house feels so good doesn’t it?  A clean kitchen, laundry that is caught up, clean floors and everything in it’s place.  Such a lovely thing. 

I am humbled to admit that I don’t get to experience a completely clean home very often.  Usually only when company is coming.  Why is that?  I have all sorts of excuses that I can and do use.   I’m too busy teaching lessons.  I’m behind in this area, when it’s caught up I’ll get back to getting it all done.  I am so busy that I don’t have time to properly teach my children to get their chores done better (and to assign them more chores).  I am sooooo exhausted.  Etc., etc., etc.  

But are any of those really the truth?  They are part truths, but not the whole truth.  The real truth is that I am lazy.  Ouch!  That hurts to admit.  I want to play, when I want to play.  I don’t want to be bothered, with dishes, and laundry and mopping and training.  I’ve done my duty, I’ve taught lessons, I “should” have a break, I “should” have time off.   But is that the right attitude?  Of course not.  I need to have a heart of love and service to the Lord.  And the work He has called me to do is washing and scrubbing and loving and teaching and sacrificing what I might want to do.  And if I refuse to do that, what am I doing?  First I’m in a bit of a rebellion to the Lord.  Second, I’m not showing kindness to my family and those the Lord puts in my life.   I’m not giving myself up for them.  I’m really sacrificing them for my own pleasures.  How sad is that?

So Lord, please forgive this foolish, selfish woman.  Father help me to turn from these ways and to bring You glory by working out your love to others in tangible ways.

to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.  Titus 2:5

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.  1 John 1:9

