Today is Christmas!  The children will open their stockings and gifts.  I’ll spend the day cooking and assembling things for the children as needed.  It will be fun and the children, Lord willing, will have beautiful memories.

Normally I run myself ragged on Christmas.  I cook elaborate meals and pretty much don’t stop all day.  This year I am hoping to make different because I had begun to dread Christmas day. 

I am making a simpler breakfast (cinnamon rolls reheated, that I made yesterday).  And for dinner I am not doing a huge meal.  I’m just going to make fried chicken strips and simple side dishes.  Lunch will be snacky foods.  And for dessert I’m making a banana cake.  Not several different pies like I normally would. 

Our gift giving was toned down this year too.  I want today to be about Jesus and what He did for us.  I want it to be simpler and a day filled with loving each other and enjoying each other.  Our Christmas will be much simpler today.  But I am hoping that when all is said and done, it will be richer.

It’s the simple pleasures in life.  Here is a video to enjoy watching of some unsuspecting people that were blessed with a surprise blessing.

Merry CHRISTmas!

