Here is a Christmas carol for you to sing today while going about your business.  I think this is a pretty cute one.  We don’t do Santa here, but I do think this is cute anyway.

Money is tight for everybody this year.  Believe me, I know.  For us it’s tighter than it’s ever been.  But through it all the LORD’s blessings and mercies are new every morning.  If you would love to have a play kitchen set for your children but lack the money or the space, I have found a cool idea for you.  How about a roll-up KitchenBalancingeverything.com has a great tutorial with printable patterns to make one.  And while you are sewing, how about making up some play food?  There are tons of free patterns on the internet to sew or crochet or knit play food.  Etsy, has all sorts of patterns available for sale if you don’t find exactly what you want for free.  And the benifit of softie play foods is that you can toss them in the washer to clean them.  Put your mat, play food etc into a bin, tote or basket and you have a portable play kitchen set any imaginative child is sure to love. 

I’m sharing this idea first because it could become time consuming depending on how elaborate you make it.  I have been working on play food for a while and I have made almost everything in the Tasty Crochet! book.  For the kitchen I am going to use the concept but change it up a little.  I bought a plastic rolling cart from Sterilite which will store all of the play food.  The top will have a topper made for a sink and stove.  I purchase a couple of forks/spoons and some plastic plates for a few dollars and those will be included with the set.  Once I am finished with the kitchen topper I will add a pic.  I’m super excited about this more orderly, frugal and mobile play kitchen and I hope that my children will love it!

Here is an idea to do with your children to make some happy memories:

How about making some snowman garland!  Super cute!

On the blog Intentionally Katie I found a great list of verses for the Christmas season.  So I will be sharing it each day for the next 12 days 🙂

CHRISTMAS IS a time for singing: 

12 Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. 13 Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. 14 And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.

 15 Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. 16 Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts. 17 And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. Colossians 3:12-17

Wow!  Something worth singing about!

