Today is my third son’s birthday.  He is 14 years old today.  Fourteen years ago I was feeling a bit crampy cleaning the garage with my husband.  We finished cleaning the garage and I was still feeling crampy.  My husband insisted that I was in labor.  I disagreed, but we went to the hospital.  It turns out that he was right.  I was in labor and my son was born.  It’s hard to believe that I am now the mother of three teens.  Time goes by so quickly.

Birthday’s in our home aren’t really super festive.  Our children each recieve a gift from us and they get to choose meals for the day.  We also consider birthdays holidays and we take the day off of school.  Today my birthday boy has chosen homemade cinnamon rolls for breakfast, hot dogs and doritos for lunch and tacos for dinner.   He chose all health foods as you can see!  And the birthday person also gets a cake.  The birthday boy has chosen a chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting.

For a while I made the fun shaped cakes for birthdays or I bought a Costco cake.  But needing to cut costs and simplify I have made some changes.  I no longer buy Costco cakes.  They are more than I want to spend on a cake and too far away to get if a birthday is middle of the week.  I used to buy them at my convenience and put them in our big freezer.  Our big freezer died last year and my husband doesn’t think that we need it.  So no more freezing cakes.  And I don’t make fancy cakes anymore.  Not because my family isn’t worth the effort and hours that they take.  They are.  But they ended up costing me more money for the extra decoration things.  So, to cut back and simplify I decided that our cakes now will be basic 9×13 cakes that are NOT layer cakes.  They stay in the pan and are decorated simply.  For the younger children I will spend a few dollars and buy the decorating kits from the Walmart bakery.  The little kits are inexpensive and make the cakes seem fancy to the children.  When I can afford it I want to purchase a pretty pan like the nice stoneware Paula Deen pans from Walmart for our birthday cakes.  But I haven’t done it yet.

This birthday cake was decorated with Wilton’s frosting press thingie.  It’s like a cookie press, but for frosting.  I normally write on the cake with melted chocolate in a baggie.  Works great and tastes yummy.  But my Dollar Tree baggie popped all over the cake and so I scooped off the mishap and swirled the frosting.  Not my best looking cake, but it’s still a celebration!  And it looks very boyish 😉

