This year our finances are tighter than they have ever been.  It really hasn’t been pleasant, but it has been a growing experience.

With our tighter finances has come the realization that we have to down-size Christmas.  One part of Christmas that I at first we would have to just not do is stockings.  Normally I spend about $200 on stockings for the 7 children and my husband.  This year there is no way that I could spend this amount this year and I did not want stockings that were only half full.

Thinking and praying about this I was inspired to just use smaller stockings for the children for this year!  Not teensy tiny stockings, but stockings that are about half the size of normal.  We could do stockings, have them full and stay within our means.  So very thankful for the the inspiration to do this.

Using white yarn from my stash and green yarn that was gifted to me, I created 8 of these:

It is not a great picture, but you get the idea!  I am very excited that we will get to have stockings this year!

So, how will you stay within your means while enjoying Christmas?

Oh, I almost forgot to share the pattern I used, lol.  I used this pattern and made these changes (basically to give it a rounder heel):

Toe:
Row 1- 8 sc in magic circle, join (8)
Row 2- 2 sc in each stitch around, join (16)
Row 3- 2 sc first stitch, sc next stitch around, join (24)
Row 4- 2 sc first stitch, sc in next 2 stitches around, join (32)
Row 5-2 sc first stitch, sc in next 7 stitches around, join (36)
Rows 6,7, 8- sc around, join (36)

Foot area:
Worked 4 rows of 9 3 dc groups/clusters in each row.

Heel:
Rows 1-4 worked even (16)
Row 5- sc in 6 stitches, sc2tog twice, sc in 6 stitches (14)
Row 6- sc in 5 stitches, sc2tog twice, sc in 5 stitches (12)
Then on wrong side, slip stitch the two edges together (6)

Stocking body:
I worked 9 rows of 9 3-dc groups/clusters in each row. Working 9 dc in the heel for the first row.

Cuff:
I worked 4 sc rows for the cuff. (36)

It is about 11″ tall and 5″ wide.

