Okay, maybe this tutorial isn’t as fun as a crochet pattern or sewing tutorial, or any of the fun stuff on Pinterest.  But it may be useful to someone at some point.  Hey, with my memory what it is, it may be useful to me down the road, lol.  So here goes.

The supplies needed to create a Pocket Cash Envelope Ledger:

  • The printed sheet from the file (available here)
  • A paper cutter or scissors (yep, my paper cutter has seen better days)
  • A stapler
  • A corner edger if desired

100_2299

The first step is to take your page that has been printed with page 1 on one side and page 2 on the other.  This can take a couple times to get lined up correctly if you aren’t familiar with how your printer prints.  My printer will print both sides in one step, however the second side ends up upside down.  I didn’t take the time to figure out how to change that setting, I just printed one side and then inserted the same page again for the other side.

100_2300

After you have your page you need to cut it in half so you have two sheets that measure 8.5″ by 5.5″.

100_2301

Then you will stack those sheets, turn them and cut them in half again creating 4 sheets that measure 4.25″ by 2.75″.

100_2305The next step is to stack each sheet, lining them up so that none of the pages are upside down and then fold them.  I don’t have a bone folder, so I just used the edge of my corner edger to give the fold a nice sharp crease.  Open up your booklet, place the pages in your stapler and staple along the crease.  I use two staples, one at the top and one at the bottom, but one will work fine.

Please excuse the awful picture.

100_2307

Here is your almost completed ledger.  Or completed if you cut your pages better than mine.  My paper cutter measurements seem to be off slightly always giving me one side that is a little bigger than the other.

100_2316

I don’t like the uneven edges so I am going to put the closed booklet into my paper cutter and clean up the edges.  Then I am going to use my corner edger to round the edges.  I do this by opening the booklet and doing half of the pages at once, punching 4 times.

Here is a picture of the finished booklet:

100_2322 100_2330

I printed my file on a sheet of super cheap paper.  You can see bleed through.  I recommend using a better quality of paper.  I was out of it, so I just used what I had.  The bleed through bothers me, but I can live with it.

